HISTORY of SPILSBY FRANKLIN SECONDARY MODERN SCHOOL

When the Franklin School opened in September 1953 it offered a varied education for all 11 -15 year old boys and girls who did not go to Grammar School and offered a very different experience from that of the 'all age schools' It was much larger, had a much fuller curriculum, including art, music, domestic science, PE and games, handicrafts and rural studies as well as the usual academic subjects. There was the novel experience of a small farm with livestock and arable land the produce being used in the School kitchen and dining room. The thinking behind the Secondary Modern Schools, of which several were built in the County, was to give older pupils more opportunity to develop skills that could help them in later life.

Originally planned for 220 pupils there were 227 on roll on the opening day of 15th. September. Later extensions in the 1960's including a three storey classroom block, an enlarged staffroom and offices raised this number to in excess of 300.

Including the Headmaster, Mr. R.H. Beacock, the teaching staff numbered 13 and by 1962 had risen to 17. In 1963 Mr. S. Josephs had succeeded Mr. Beacock as Head and number on roll had significantly increased Mr. John Dale was appointed Head to succeed Mr. Josephs and was to continue in that capacity until the school closure. He brought with him a strong sporting background having played both first class County cricket and league football and also a keen interest in Art. Miss Malt was senior mistress from 1953 until her retirement in 1983. Both Mr. Coles and Mr. Elliott were original members of staff who had both served the school for over 30 years until their retirement.

The School quickly established a good record, both academically and sporting, and there were many extra curriculum activities - excellent plays were produced involving pupils and staff and these were to continue until the school closed - visits to local businesses and sporting events were a regular feature and in 1968/69 there started a school exchange with the school in Maxdorf in Germany and these exchanges continued through the 1980's.

As the years passed there was considerable liason with the King Edward VI Grammar School and this continued right through until the closure of both schools in 1990.

The Spilsby Youth Wing headquarters were on the site and their leaders gave pupils the opportunity to be involved in the Duke of Edinburgh Award Schemes.

The future of several Secondary Modern Schools within the County was put in jeopardy by falling rolls and subsequent drop in funding and the Franklin School was no exception. The Education Authority was faced with two small secondary Schools in Spilsby - the Franklin and King Edward VI - it's favoured solution was the closure of both and the transfer of all pupils to other schools in the area. This was strongly opposed by both Governing Bodies, but it took a delegation to a meeting with the Secretary of State for Education to gain a reprieve for Secondary Education in Spilsby. The result was the closure of both Schools in 1990 - the King Edward VI Grammar School after 440years and the Franklin Secondary Modern School after a mere 37 years - and the setting up of one bi-lateral Secondary School - Spilsby High School - on the former Franklin Site. This School has now become the King Edward VI Academy and offers a full 11 - 18 education again for Spilsby.